NaNoWriMo – Day 1

Wow, day one and I already have 2187 words, which is ahead of the goal of 1667 words a day. I’m feeling strangely optimistic…and that scares me.

While I am feeling optimistic, I do have some horrible issues with my story which remind me of the last time I did NaNoWriMo and had these same issues…I am absolutely terrible at transitioning from description to dialogue! I feel like I could go on and on and on describing things and never letting my characters speak. But then it becomes increasingly hard to stop them from speaking so I let them go ahead and talk and it just sounds terrible. I need to work on that, a lot.

Also, about 3 pages in I decided I wanted to go from 1st person narrative to 3rd person. That will be fun to read back over later and try to fix! Oh well, can’t think of things THAT far into the future yet.

Hopefully I have more things to talk about this month than NaNoWriMo – but I suppose since this is the kick off for the rest of the month, it’s the only thing on my mind.

Now! To conquer the remaining 47,813 words!

2 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo – Day 1

    • Its going good! I’m almost up the 3333 word goal for today. I was telling my husband last night though that I really do stink transitioning from dialogue to description. I went to college for screenwriting, so I break out into hives when I see blocks of description and no dialogue LOL!! Its definitely a work in progress and I don’t expect gold the first go around, just trying to keep myself pumped and up to date on my word counts.

Leave a Reply

