My Toes are Cold*

I have a 7 year old sister. I was about two weeks from my 20th birthday when she was born. Out of the house, living in the dorms and on my own. It’s kind of strange to have a sister so much younger than I am, but at the same time, it’s so normal. I can’t imagine life without her.

I love hanging out with her, almost more than anything. I get to see her on most Saturday’s, and often it’s the highlight of my week. It’s so much fun watching her grow, learn, and develop her own quirky personality. She reminds me a lot of myself.  I’m often accused of being about 8 years old, mentally. I mean, I work 40 hours a week, I pay my taxes, balance the bank – put off folding laundry at all costs…all those other boring adult things. But on the inside, I’m a freaking kid. The funny thing is, when I WAS a kid, I was always thinking like an adult. Maybe I’m like some odd version of Benjamin Button.

Anywho, she expressed interest in seeing the new Twilight movie Breaking Dawn, and my immediate reaction was no. Then I started thinking about all the things I watched when I was her age. A Nightmare on Elm Street, Night of the Living Dead, IT, Pet Semetary, Tales from the Crypt (notice a trend?) – all things  kid should probably never watch. I loved those movies, and I’d say they might even be one of the reasons I wanted to study film when I grew up. To this day A Nightmare on Elm Street is one of my favorite movies of all time. I remember the first time I watched it, and I know I had to have been around 7 because I was enough of a fan to want to watch Freddy’s Dead which came out in 1991 when I was 7 – and you better believe I went to the theater to watch that!

The thing is, people today freak out so much about what their kids are watching. And yes, to an extent there is a reason to freak out. But I was watching these horrible scary, gory, bloody, things when my brain still hadn’t cooled, and I turned out OK. (Ok, that is debatable) But the honest truth is I was never violent, I have never done drugs, I didn’t even kiss anyone until I was in college…

I don’t know, I guess my whole point was maybe we shouldn’t hover over kids so much and freak out over every little detail, let them breathe, they might just surprise you with how much they can actually think on their own… or maybe I’m way off the mark because I don’t even have kids of my own. Oh well, either way, one, two, Freddy’s coming for you. Whatever you do, don’t fall asleep!

*Yeah that title had nothing to do with anything, did it…

2 thoughts on “My Toes are Cold*

  1. I loved this post Laura, I have a 7 year old brother and a 10 year old brother, so I understand the bond you have with them. I too am old enough to be their mum and I definitely have had a few people thinking that is the case.

    However, it’s very different when you’re their sibling as you can get away with more things! For example, once when my sister was about 6 or 7 she was being a bit, let’s say, brattish. She was refusing to wear her cycle helmet and I told her a few times that she had to wear it. She refused a few times and then against my wishes, cycled off very quickly.

    In doing so, she cycled straight into a big sign and whacked her head. Needless to say, my first instinct was to burst out laughing with a big chorus of ‘I told you so’. The parents walking past thought she was my daughter and obviously thought that I was the worst parent in the world. But, as a sister, laughing was first priority. (She was fine, I did check after! haha)

    Also, I don’t know if you’ve taken her to see the new Twilight but if not, I probably wouldn’t recommend it. It’s actually quite gorey and made me feel a bit sick. There are also some quite raunchy bits, so I probably wouldn’t take mine!

    • It’s so much fun having a little kid as a sibling! I would have laughed too! My Sis and I definitely act like typical siblings sometime…mom has even gotten onto us a time or two for “fighting like sisters fight”.
      We ended up not seeing Breaking Dawn. I was going to make mom leave the theater with her during the honeymoon. But when I was visiting with her Saturday she decided it would scare her (this was after her telling me she didn’t want a particular “Goosebumps” book because it wasn’t scary enough…kids I swear..)

      People think I’m my sister’s mom too. I get the funny looks out in public because I guess I don’t talk to her like a parent would (you know “come on turd face let’s get some cheesecake”… ) if I see someone looking at me funny like why on earth am I talkin to my kid like that, I’ll say outloud “hey let’s go find mom” or something! I probably have never really called her turd face but that’s the only thing I can think of right now..

Leave a Reply

