Rejection

Well, I received my first ever rejection letter in the mail! Is this a weird thing to be excited about? Probably, but the simple fact that I actually mailed off a script after years and years of saying “someday” I will, sort of feels like a win to me anyway. Plus getting a letter from Nickelodeon  — AWESOME!

My husband and I collaborated on our first spec script – Spongebob Squarepants – back in January or February for the Nickelodeon Writing Fellowship. We knew it was a crapshoot, they only take 2-4 people a year for crying out loud. But we learned we actually work pretty well together, and since then have written 4 more short scripts, with plans of many more in the years to come I’m sure.

Still, it would have been completely amazing to work at Nickelodeon for a year, learning the ins and outs of working at a network television station. I learned after we submitted our piece for Spongebob, that they actually prefer scripts from sitcoms – The Office, Parks and Recreation, etc. so for next year we will submit a comedy. As it turns out there are a lot of network television stations that have similar fellowships, and we have plans to submit to them all.

I guess we never know if we don’t try, and I think that is probably the most important thing to remember – not trying at all is a failure in itself.

Leave a Reply

