NaNo Shall Live Another Day… Just Not Today

Sigh……

I hate to admit it to the world but I’ve given up on this years NaNoWriMo novel. It’s an idea that has been eating at my brain for months, and I’m sure it will be with me for a long time, but I’m just having so many issues with the execution of this novel that I end up stuck and frustrated with my characters. I’ve swapped perspectives about four times, and now basically just have a big mess on my hands.

I’m not giving up on my story, by any means. I still intend this to be a novel, I’m just going to be a wuss about it and work on it while I’m not pressured and frustrated with every character I have. I also ended up with too many characters… about eight of them who ran off with each other to live in the wild, always stuck with each other and talking to each other and giving me a headache with their constant yapping and whining.  You’d think being their creator I’d have more control on their yapping. Oh yeah… I did shoot one and knock one up so she ran away!

But, in an attempt to not be completely lame, I’ve began reading my novel from last year, and knocking around some ideas to polish it up. My  husband has suggested I break it down into a few novellas, probably around 100 pages or so. Kudos to husband for always thinking up good ideas for me!

It’s an as of yet untitled story probably intended for the 8-12 year age group. It’s about a young boy named David, who’s father happens to be completely evil. David doesn’t quite understand his father, or agree with the way he does things. The problem is that David is sent to school to specifically take over his father’s role when he’s old enough. The story is full of fun things like a super paranoid friend, a magic horse, a nice king, a box of fire and a girlfriend who happens to be a troll.

I think it would be great to get the novel (or short novella if I go that route) finished for my 7 year old sister to read it while she’s still around this age. She loves reading as much as I do and it would be great to have her as my critic! She certainly isn’t shy to criticize me…

6 thoughts on “NaNo Shall Live Another Day… Just Not Today

  1. I think it’s perfectly fine you didn’t finish. Novels tend to happen in their own time…you can’t force art, but if you let it ooze out in its own fashion, you will be left with something great.

    • You are so right! I think this year I’ve just been thinking too much about it, and the harder the think the harder I stare at the screen ready to shove my skull through it.

  2. Ohh nooo! I’m sorry that NaNo didn’t work out for you this year, but great that you’ve still got the story in you and that you’re revisiting your old one.

    Good idea about the novellas too, that sounds like fun!

Leave a Reply

