The Muppets

All I can say about this movie is to go watch it…now!

The end.

Ok, Ok, kidding about the whole “the end” thing. I went to see The Muppets with my almost 50 year old mom, and my 7 year old sister, and all three of us were dying laughing the whole time. It’s such a fun movie and one that a wide range of ages can enjoy.

The movie starts with the Muppets in an era that has forgotten them. They aren’t famous anymore, and doing odd jobs to stay alive. Their old studio is in ruins and in danger of being torn down so an oil tycoon can dig for oil. With the help of some new friends, Kermit has to get the whole gang back together to save their name and their studio in just a few short days. Of course, from this hilarity ensues.

There are so many funny musical numbers as well – including a rap that had me laughing so hard I don’t think I was breathing. It was heartwarming without being preachy, and I appreciate that in a family film. I think when films start to get too gooshy or preachy the audience begins to check out – especially in movies like this where the target audience is both kids and adults.

I think this movie is a fun and fresh take on old beloved characters, and it’s definitely a must-see for die-hard fans and new fans alike. I’m glad my husband didn’t go watch it with us this weekend, that give me a legitimate excuse to go back to the theater to watch it!

 

Leave a Reply

