Dear Ellen

Dear Ellen DeGeneres,

I have decided I want to be your friend. I know that is just the most ridiculous thing, because how could I want to be friends with a celebrity. I don’t really KNOW you or anything. But, I have read your book “The Funny Thing Is…” and it is hilarious. As I was reading it I thought to myself, “This is someone I need to be friends with.” On your show you always seem SO happy and carefree. I find myself bursting out into random song and dance (with the curtains pulled very very tight might I add…) and always think of you when I do.  I think if more people in this world had friends like you, it would be a much happier place! People would smile and dance around more. Maybe they’d stop being such sour-pusses.

I know this is really random. I get random thoughts a lot. I think I make my husband tired with all my random thoughts. You know, like I want to write a novel, and I want to go to the moon, and I want to make a movie, and I want to fly to India, and I want  to do this that or the other all in the span of about 2 3/4 minutes. It makes him tired. But I’ve kept the idea that I want Ellen DeGeneres to be my friend for longer than 2 3/4 minutes and I haven’t made my husband sigh when I say “I want to be Ellen DeGeneres’s friend”, so I know this is a good plan to follow through on.

In closing, I want you to know I’m a pretty average person. I don’t do much in my day to day life. I have the whole “9 to 5” thing going on (except its more like 6 p.m. – 3 am. but same basic principle). I’m in college for film editing – and have been since about 2002(well, I’m having financial aid issues at the moment so have stopped this semester and last semester but in the fall I will go back and finish 6 classes to have an AA in screenwriting and BA in film editing), married with 4 cats, tiny apartment, 2 sisters – one of which is twenty years younger than I am, no felonies, I never got in trouble in school except one time I was late to class one too many times and got a detention for that, I make a REALLY GOOD chocolate pie and chocolate peanut butter fudge, I love chocolate just like my grandfather, who I call Daddaddy, I love cartoons and mexican food. So, these are the things I would bring to the friendship.

Your Friend,

Laura

*LOL I wrote this in January and just stumbled on it.

6 thoughts on “Dear Ellen

  1. Pingback: Proofread! « Cheesecake Summer

  2. Pingback: Seriously…I’m Kidding « Cheesecake Summer

Leave a Reply

