Kreativ Award!

First of all, that word just looks all wrong. I felt dirty typing it! I was never great at spelling, because when I was a wee-tyke they taught us how to spell phonetically instead of the real way (“goat” was “got” with a line over the o for instance), and it really confused my brain to spelling. It’s really frustrating actually. I know I’m terrible at spelling, but even I know there’s nothing right about that word! Anyway, I digress.

I guess this next point should have been my “first of all”, but I’m not going to delete all that I wrote above, so I’m just going to keep rolling on. So I will go with this – A. I’d like to thank ScribblingHermit for passing this award to me!

The rules:

1. Share 10 things you don’t know about me.
2. Pass the award onto 6 other bloggers.

These rules about sharing things you don’t know about me are always hard. I maintain that I’m probably the most boring person on Earth, not a whole lot happens to me….but I’ll give it a go!

10 Things You Don’t Know About Me

1. I have temporal lobe epilepsy. I think. The doctors haven’t really diagnosed me with this because I can’t pay the thousands of dollars needed for proper testing. I did get a free CAT scan just to make sure I didn’t have brain cancer – thank God I didn’t. But anyway, this has been affecting me since I was a teenager, and I have seen a neurologist who says in his professional opinion this is what I have, he just can’t write it down on paper without me actually going through the series of testing, which involves putting leads up my nose to get a clearer image of my brain. Anyway, it’s really weird when I have an “episode” as I call them. I get this feeling of deja vu and start staring off into nothingness. It’s hard for me to talk, and when I do it comes out in gibberish. It’s really hard to think when it happens. There have even been times during an episode that I couldn’t remember my husband’s name – which is not the most comforting feeling in the world. I don’t get these episodes all the time, thankfully. I haven’t had one in almost 2 years now.

2. I wish I was better at math and science, so I could be an astronomer. I took an advanced astronomy class in college and it was really amazing, and really hard.

3. I have never done drugs – not even pot. I’m too paranoid because there is substance abuse hitting me from both sides of my family. I even ask doctors not to prescribe me things people accidentally get addicted to. You hear so many stories of people having a bad accident then getting addicted to their pain-killers. I’m so scared of that happening!

4. I’m not ready for kids yet, but I will be 28 in a little over 2 months and I’m starting to get scared about my “clock ticking out” – even though my mom had my sister Becca when she was 43.

5. I went to college for film editing – someday that will happen!

6. The first concert I ever went to was Hanson. I was 13. I called my dad begging him to take me so intensely that I was crying. I still love Hanson. My favorite bands are Red Hot Chili Peppers, Muse, Green Day, Marilyn Manson, and of course my cousin Tune-Yards (Who will be on Jimmy Kimmel Thursday January 5th. Watch it. Love it.)

7. I cuss like a sailor.

8. I believe in ghosts, aliens, possessions… anything that could possibly keep you up at night with a flashlight in hand.

9. I can build computers. I never had formal training at it, just some emailed instructions from my friend and a lot of tinkering out things myself.

10. I’m terrified of balloons. I think Roy from the show The IT Crowd said it best, “Balloons explode, Jen. They explode suddenly, and unexpectedly. They are filled with the capacity to give me a little fright, and I find that unbearable.” I too find it unbearable.

And The Award Goes To:
(In no particular order)

Limebird Writers

Reviewing Shelf

Project 150

Conversing With Novels

Life in the Blue Ridges

Spectacular Disaster

Check them out!

6 thoughts on “Kreativ Award!

    • You are welcome 🙂

      I used to take Keppra XR – but the reason they put me on that was to see if it got rid of the seizures –and if it did then maybe we’d know for sure if I had it or not?? It was weird, I took them for 6 months or so and never had a seizure, but then I went probably a year or more after that without having anything, then all of a sudden they came back real bad for a couple of months, then they went away again and I haven’t had any since May 2010 (while we were on our way to our honeymoon of all things!!)
      So, we don’t even know if the keppra stopped them for that 6 month period, or if I was just going through a period of not having anything happen.

      Honestly, the neurologist said he thought this is what I have and that is why he prescribed that medicine – but then once I went to see him and was stuck with his physicians assistant and she all but told me I was crazy and making this up – which cross my heart I’m not and people that see it happen when it does know I’m not making it up. So basically I’ve chocked it all up to this weird thing that happens to me every now and then that I just deal with.

      It’s so weird how it goes thru these periods though, like if I had been on the Keppra this whole time we might think that it was causing them to go away, but really they just kinda go away on their own. My grandma did send me to the psychologist when I mentioned this happening when I was 16 or so (well I hear and see things that aren’t actually there, which is the common occurrence of this type of epilepsy. The psychologist told me after one session that I was not crazy, and then sent me to the neurologist.

      And I’m officially rambling…. 🙂

Leave a Reply

