Life As We Knew It

I just finished book 7 for the month in around 24 hours – Life As We Knew It by Susan Beth Pfeffer. I have a thing for dystopian YA fiction, and boy was this a doozie!

Pic from Wikipedia

Here is the synopsis from Amazon.com:

Miranda’s disbelief turns to fear in a split second when a meteor knocks the moon closer to the earth. How should her family prepare for the future when worldwide tsunamis wipe out the coasts, earthquakes rock the continents, and volcanic ash blocks out the sun? As summer turns to Arctic winter, Miranda, her two brothers, and their mother retreat to the unexpected safe haven of their sunroom, where they subsist on stockpiled food and limited water in the warmth of a wood-burning stove.
Told in journal entries, this is the heart-pounding story of Miranda’s struggle to hold on to the most important resource of all–hope–in an increasingly desperate and unfamiliar world.
I honestly could not put this book down. Miranda keeps a journal of what life is like when the moon is pushed closer to the Earth, first causing tsunamis to consume islands and other area’s near the ocean, swallowing them off the map. Then crazy storms pop up, followed by gravity pulling inactive volcanoes into activity. That causes ash to fill the air all over the world.
There are two things I kept thinking as I read this – that Miranda has to live until at least the end of the book (no one else was going to write her journal for her), and that no matter what her and her family do they can never get away from what the moon is doing to the Earth. Natural disaster is one thing – and horrible as it is. An earthquake can cause devastation, but once it’s over people can rebuild and life can restart. But there is no escaping the moon – it is stuck in its new orbit, and will forever do weird things to the Earth.
And while this was a definite page turner – it wasn’t a particularly happy read. It also has me wanting to stock pile canned good and water out of paranoia!  There are two sequels, and I should have listened to my husband last night when he told me to get the other two.
5 thoughts on “Life As We Knew It

    • It was a really amazing story, it was so hard to put down! And I can’t stop thinking about it either. Have you read the other two books? I looked them up and the second book is about different people, in New York I think , but the third book is back to the folks from the first. I can’t wait to get them. The husband told me to when we were at the book store Friday, but I thought what if I hated it, then I’d have two more books I wouldn’t want to read. Dangit i hate when he’s right!

  1. Pingback: Truth in Fiction? « Cheesecake Summer

Leave a Reply

