Nyarlathotep

I’m an editing nerd!

My husband and I attend the same college (except I haven’t been able to go for the past two years due to some financial aid issues, and that is something that makes me heart-sick daily). This semester, he is taking a film editing class, and I honestly feel like a freaking fat kid in a candy store – and trust me I am a fat kid, I know what that feels like! I read his assignment last night and I literally squealed and begged to be able to do the assignment too. Not for him, mind you, in addition to him. How sad is this, to be begging for homework?

I love studying film in general – specifically screenwriting and cinema history, in addition to editing of course. If I ever manage to get back into college and finish the SIX classes I need, I will graduate with a BFA in Film Editing and an AA in Screenwriting. Both of them are pretty tedious, and extremely enjoyable to me. Film editing though, just turns something on inside of me. It’s a really niche love, I realize that. Not a lot of folks think about the editor, and I understand that. The editor is the silent voice that drives the film. The editor is handed reel after reel of footage, with the task of finding the diamond in the rough. With a bad editor, the movie will fail. With a good editor, what would be garbage can suddenly be amazing. It’s a daunting task, and I love it.

I remember the first time I ever edited anything, I was in high school. I was part of a group project, and it seemed that only 2 out of the 4 of us cared enough to try to finish the project. It was crunch time, and the semester was coming to an end and my group mate and I were struggling really hard to pick up the slack and get everything done. It was then that we split the project and just focused on one thing – luckily for me I was stuck with editing the thing together. Alone and quiet in a computer lab with the hum of machines filling the room, I was lost in my own little world for hours until I finally put together a finished product. That did it, I was hooked.

I haven’t touched any editing software since I left school 2 years ago. The other night I had to install a newer version of Final Cut on my Mac computer because what I had used for classes was outdated (thank you Apple). But it was just like riding a bike, it all slowly began to come back to me – I just want someone to hand me a big bunch of footage and let me edit it together. It wouldn’t be work, it would be fun! That is what I’m supposed to be doing, not talking to angry people mad about their internet bill being too high and suing the company because they can’t connect their XBox to the modem.

Anyway, I thought I’d share an assignment I did for the Editing 3 class a few years ago.

Our assignment was to get royalty free audio and video and edit them together to make a story. So I didn’t record any of this, I have no idea who the narrator is or anything, I just chopped it all together. This is probably one of the most fun I’ve ever had doing homework.

6 thoughts on “Nyarlathotep

  1. Very cool stuff. I always like learning about behind-the-scenes work and what it involves. I think you did a great job matching the audio and video, with good timing and rhythm.

Leave a Reply

