Stop and Look Up

I noticed my last two posts were a bit on the grumpy side. I blame the heat! It has been in the mid-80’s all week and I am MELTING (I can’t make the word “melting” any stronger!) I work at home at a call center, and that means that my area has to be quiet. Since I live with two insane cats who do nothing but make my life hard, and a crazy man who yells at video games all day, I have to leave the door shut. This closes me off from… roughly all cool air. Add three computer’s to the mix and you’ve got one super toasty me. No joke, I had a chocolate chip cookie in here from yesterday that I didn’t eat, I went to pick it up today and the chips had melted!

The AC is on, it’s just trying to destroy me. I really really REALLY dread summer!

ANYWAY, I got off on another rant that I didn’t mean to. I noticed that I had been grumpy for a few days and when I get grumpy I like to look to the sky. It makes me feel like no matter what is going on in my head or in my life that in the grand scheme of things, it doesn’t really matter. I don’t know if that is a good feeling or a bad feeling, now that I think about it.

I saw the evening sky the other day and it really struck me.

This was just before the sun set. I love how near the horizon the sky is light and clouds are dark, but then the sky transitions to a deeper blue and lighter clouds.

I love when I can look up at the sky and see something beautiful like this. Thinking of the world, the solar system, the universe… it all makes my silly problems seem not so bad. Maybe instead of stopping to smell the roses, we should all stop and just look up.

14 thoughts on “Stop and Look Up

  1. It’s been in the 80s here too and up until yesterday I didn’t have time to pull any of my warm-weather clothes out of storage. So, yes, I think I might know what you mean about melting.

    I love skies too! I’m always looking up to the sky to see if I can find birds because I’m a big bird lover. I also love to check out cloud configuration and the colors at different times of days. Because I’m right on the seacoast, our sunrises are stunning (maybe that’s one of the reasons it’s easy for me to get up so early, I get a peek at the morning sky first thing).

    Anyway, hope you find a way to stay cooler. Can you get a window fan or just any kind of fan to at least circulate the air?

    • That would be a great reason to get up at 4 a.m.!
      Last night the good ole husband ran to wal-mart and got a window fan, it’s like a whole new room in here now! phewwwww.

  2. I hate the heat. I’m the palest Greek person alive (unofficial, but I’ve yet to be challenged on this status). If anything’s going to put me in a foul mood it’s being too hot (i.e. anything over 22 degrees).

    There’s a fine art to ranting with good humour and wit, so you rant away, my friend!

  3. I love this, and I can completely relate. I really hate summer as well due to the heat. But I know what you mean when you say that you look up at the sky in order to gain perspective. I do the same with the mountains here. Any time I’m upset, I head to the parkway and just sit and look out towards the mountains. It helps me to clear my head and reminds me that the little things I complain about don’t mean anything compared to the bigger picture of life. πŸ™‚

  4. Laura, I was at the Walmart parking lot and caught a sunset. The colors, the clouds, it took my breath away and reminded me how much beauty there is out there. If I can just get out of my own head. πŸ™‚

  5. Pingback: Favorite Blog Q&A, Lucky 7 Game, Sunshine Blog Award « Kourtney Heintz's Journal

Leave a Reply

