Proust Questionnaire!

The other day I wrote up this little post for Limebird Writers all about using a questionnaire to interview characters for a screen play or a novel. After I wrote this up (and as a few people mentioned in the comments to that post) I realized I’d have a much easier time answering these questions about a character than I would about myself.

So I thought what the heck, I’d give it a go and be like Marcel Proust for the day, and answer these questions about myself.

Marcel Proust Questionnaire

What is your favorite virtue?

My favorite virtue in others is the ability to help people. That’s why I love Ellen DeGeneres so much, she has the means to get people who truly deserve a little help and inspires everyone to be kind to one another.

What are your favorite qualities in a man?

Not acting like a man. Ok.. that sounds wrong. Let me think of my husband for a minute, he loves kitty cats will, help cook dinner, do laundry and other things like that around the house. He also kills the bugs for me. We can sit around talking about books and movies and fictional characters and have a good laugh. I don’t know what qualities those are – not being a big hot head jerk. Does that count?

What are your favorite qualities in a woman?

OK I hope I don’t get flack for this – but a woman who can be a woman without whining to the world that she’s empowered to things just because she’s a woman. I know I am a woman, but I really can’t stand those over the top insane women’s liberation folks.

What is your chief characteristic?

Fun – happy – carefree.

What do you appreciate the most in your friends?

My best friend and I are almost complete opposites, when I think about it. She’s tall and skinny, I’m short and fat. She loves nature, I hate nature. She never cries, I cry at sappy McDonald’s commercials… the list could go on and on. But I appreciate that even though she hates every other human on Earth, she doesn’t judge me, she would never look down on me, she would be there in a second for me – even if it was 4 in the morning. She would drop anything for me, and I’d drop anything for her.

What is your main fault?

I’m lazy. I procrastinate.

What is your favorite occupation?

Well none that I’ve had!  The occupation I want is a film editor – more precisely a trailer editor.

What is your idea of happiness?

Well, I’m partly there already – I have my husband, my sidekick. So I feel like even with things suck really bad (and they kind of do right now) that with him around it will be OK. But to add to that, I’d like to have my degree and a real career, I think maybe with the degree at least I’d feel a little more complete.

What is your idea of misery?

Being strung out on drugs and going on welfare and not having enough money for anything. Let’s just say I’ve seen that first  hand and don’t want that for my life or my children (whenever I have them…)

If not yourself, who would you be?

Well.. that’s an odd question now isn’t it? I suppose I’d like to be a better version of myself.  Does that count? I like being me for the most part, but I sure would like to have more money and a better job and a better house, so if I could be me but with those things, I think I’d be good!

Where would you like to live?

Stars Hollow, Connecticut.

What is your favorite color and flower?

Orange, and Mums.

What is your favorite bird?

Blackbird singing in the dead of night… I don’t know really, I never thought about it too much.

Who are your favorite prose authors?

Stephen King and J.K. Rowling.

Who are your favorite poets?

Dr. Seuss.

Who are your favorite heroes in fiction?

Neville Longbottom!

Who are your favorite heroines in fiction?

Wonder Woman!

Who are your favorite painters and composers?

Painter – Goya.

Composer – Bach.. and Matthew Bellamy.

Who are your heroes in real life?

Spider-man! Oh wait, real life. My granpa, Daddaddy.

Who are your favorite heroines in real life?

Ellen DeGeneres

What characters in history do you most dislike?

Hitler. Satan.

Who are your heroes in world history?

Mother Theresa. Jesus.

What is your favorite food and drink?

Chicken Tikka Massala. Hot drink: Chai tea latte with a shot of espresso. Cold drink: Vanilla Coke or  sweet tea. Alcoholic: long island iced tea or pineapple upside down cake.

What are your favorite names?

Vladimir. No really, I don’t know, that’s an odd question. I like my granny’s name – Lorna.  We have decided if we ever breed to name the kid Dominic if it’s a boy.

What do you hate the most?

Wow… the one thing I hate the most out of all other things? When I wake up 10 minutes before the alarm goes off. There goes 10 minutes I could have been sleeping!

Seriously though, I’m not a fan of intolerance.

What military event do you admire the most?

When the south lost.

Which reform do you admire the most?

I can’t think of any I admire.

What natural talent would you like to be gifted with?

I always wish I could draw.

How do you wish to die?

Old and in my sleep.

What is your present state of mind?

Well, I’m disappointed that I didn’t win that Mega Millions! I’m sleepy for some reason. I guess my present state of mind is run of the mill.

What fault have you tolerated the most?

Stealing and lying. I never learn my lesson.

What is your motto?

Well I never really thought of this before but I suppose it would be to be as happy as you can, come what may, and let things roll off your back. Life is too short to spend it grumpy and miserable.

7 thoughts on “Proust Questionnaire!

  1. Aw the way you talk about your husband is so lovely! I’m not sure I could cope with Taylor, living in Stars Hallow, but I’ve always thought it would be cool to have an official town troubadour!

    • I think I’d probably like to egg Taylor’s house a time or two, if I had to live in a town with him. Having a troubadour would be awesome! But only one, or Taylor will be upset.

  2. Great fun, Laura. That painting freaks me out, though, I had to scroll right past it, lol. But I love that you are happy as you and you’d still be you even if given the opportunity to be anyone else. That speaks volumes.

    Have a fun-pendous day!

    • hehe I’ve always loved that painting, “Saturn Devouring his Son”. If I’m remembering right, it was a Greek myth where Saturn feared his children would overthrow him, so he ate them! Francisco Goya had a “black period” and that’s where that came from, a bit disturbed! I love when things are a bit off .. I’m not sure why. I’m not a weird crazy downer type of person, maybe I need stuff like that to balance me out since I’m really into bright fluffy cute things too…

      I can’t really imagine being someone else. I guess it would be fun to be someone else for a day, but not forever.

      Thank you 🙂 I hope you have a grrrrrrrrrrreat weekend 🙂

Leave a Reply

