Good News…The Best News!

I should be punched for all the whining I did in my last post, because I was feeling too sorry for myself to realize the number one thing – I have an amazing family, husband, and friends.

My sister called me today…with news I can’t even believe. Pinch me, I’m surely dreaming.

Because of her and her dad’s generosity and good fortune, I’m going back to school! (no she’s not my half-sister, no matter what the technical term really is. I have a pet-peeve with the term “half-sister”… )

I

AM

GOING

BACK

TO

SCHOOL!

I know, not to count my chickens before they hatch and all that, but I’m so on cloud 50,000 right now. I’m in shock. I’m in tears. After so many false promises and blatant lies from financial aid people I had all but given up on finishing school – but it was a thought that literally tormented me day in and day out.

Ahhhhhh I can’t even think properly anymore! I just wanted to share my good news. I haven’t been awake very long and haven’t had breakfast…but I feel like I need some steak or something to celebrate!

 

Kelly at age 11, me at age 18 - The two of us back in the day...that feels like a different lifetime.

 

 

16 thoughts on “Good News…The Best News!

  1. Laura that is AWESOME news! Congrats!!!! It’s so amazing when a dream becomes possible. You have a wonderful sister and father. And it’s clear from this post you really really appreciate them. 😉 It’s okay to get down and wallow sometimes. It’s how we get through stuff. Then perspective shifts, we dust ourselves off and life gets better. 🙂

  2. Hurrah, fantastic! You obviously have powers greater than you realise though. Let’s test it – in a day or two do a blog post about how upset you are that you never win the lottery. Ooh, and don’t forget which of your lovely new blogging buddies suggested this 😉

  3. Yay! I’m so happy for you. Sometimes this is even better than the first time ’round, because you know what it’s like not to go. That happened to me for a small while with college, and when I got to go back I was a totally different person. Congrats!

    • Thank you 😀 I told my husband today I can’t wait to have homework! Once this current semester ends, it will be 2 years since I’ve been in school. I’m soooo close to graduating though. Then I can update my Limebird profile to say I have a real degree in screenwriting 😀

  4. Don’t worry, we all get bummed out sometimes. I’m so happy that I stumbled upon such a fun blog (and that I found you during a time of such good news!) Going back to school is HUGE! Congratulations, Laura!

  5. Ah, congrats! I wish I had seen this earlier. I’m just now catching up with blogs since I’m no longer bogged down with finals. I can’t wait to hear how school goes for you. 🙂 🙂 You should watch season 4 of GG when Rory goes off to Yale. I watch it every year before I go back to school. It makes me smile every time.
    “Google before Yale.”
    “It’s a masagonistic truck. It’s gender selective. It’s anti-woman. It’s let’s hike our shorts up and drink a beer and watch the game.”
    “Say something to make me hate you.” “Um…Go Hitler!”

Leave a Reply

