Insane People: Part 2

There’s something about working customer service that really opens ones eyes to the insanity that abounds in this world.  People get so worked up about things that don’t matter! There was one guy the other day saying we “ruined his life.” – I’m still not sure how, but I just can’t imagine calling Time Warner up and telling them they’ve ruined my life. I mean sure, Time Warner has some of the crappiest customer support I’ve ever had to deal with, but at the end of the day I know I could go out and get my internet somewhere else if I felt they were ruining my life!

Anyway, I digress.

One of the things that kills me about people is that they don’t seem to grasp the concept of commerce. I never realized before I started working where I do that so many things in life are supposed to be free, like cell services, cable, internet, etc…

Me: Hello, (insert customer name here) how can I help you today?

Customer: I got an email that my card was charged, I didn’t authorize that.

Me: Our billing is all automatic, we automatically debit your payment each month.

Customer: I did not authorize that, you put the money back on my card now!

Me: It appears you haven’t paid the bill, though.

Customer: But the email says I did!

Me: We actually don’t have a payment method here to bill you from. You need to add one to the account so we can take the monthly payment.

Customer: I DID NOT AUTHORIZE YOU TO TAKE PAYMENTS!

Me: OK…the payment hasn’t been made.

Customer: Ok, because I didn’t authorize a payment.

Me: Ok…

Customer: You’re not taking a payment unless I authorize it. And I don’t.

Me: Ok… no payment has been made.

Customer: I haven’t authorized a payment! I’m going to get a lawyer!

Me: We haven’t taken a payment. We have no payment method on file to take a payment from. You have not made a payment, we have not taken a payment. But your account is now past due and a payment must be made to avoid suspension.

Customer: Well  you’re not getting a payment. You’ll get one when I say you do.

Me: Ok…

Customer: And I don’t authorize a payment.

Me: Ok…

Customer: I’ll mail a check when I feel like it.

Me: We don’t accept checks by mail.

Customer: You’ll get paid how I say you’ll get paid.

Me: Ok. That’s fine and all but we don’t accept payments by mail so you’ll still owe the balance.

Customer: I haven’t authorized a payment!!

For part one of the insanity – click here

9 thoughts on “Insane People: Part 2

    • Thank you! It can be sometimes. Sometimes it’s not so bad, but then you get people that make you question the purpose of life and all it entails.

  1. That’s INTENSE. And really er nonsensical. I don’t know how you put up with that. If I have a problem, I try opening with nice and cooperative. I’m not sure what people think will happen when you open with crazy or mean.

    • HAHA I don’t either. They think “Hey I’ll threaten these people that will make them want to help me!” Craziness! You’d be surprised how many people sign up for a service then get mad when they’re billed, it’s a head scratcher for sure 😀

  2. Pingback: Insane People: Part 3 « Cheesecake Summer

Leave a Reply

