Insane People: Part 3

Working with the public has made me feel like this:

 

Sometimes people say things that just leave me speechless.

 
Customer: Don’t you have an earlier appointment, like one tomorrow?

Me: I can certainly put in a request to see if he can call you tomorrow, but I can’t promise it.

Customer: He better not come tomorrow! He will come when I damn well say he comes.

Me:…………………….

So… why did you ask?

Then I had another conversation that had me shaking my head.

Customer: I was told to call and have a $300 credit placed on my account.

Me: Why?

Customer: So the installation man can be paid.

Me: That’s not a procedure we have in place. He is paid by completing the job.

Customer: It is too.

Me: No, the installer is paid by doing the work not by having a credit on your account. A credit deducts money off of the balance due on your monthly statement.

Customer: No, that is how it works. You put a credit on the account and then the installer is paid.

Oh, my bad, I didn’t realize you worked here… Why do people insist they know how companies work? I’ve had people telling me they know I can do things because they work at a bank, or because they also work at a customer service center. I’m glad for you and your jobs but not all companies are cut from the same cloth. Not all companies have the same systems that perform the same function that have the same end result. Not all companies have the same set of rules. Sure some may share similarities but you cussing at me for 12 minutes isn’t going to magically make a procedure I previously told you was impossible suddenly possible. If only I was made of magic.

Ah well, I guess at the end of the day I’m grateful for the insanity, because it allows me to have a job.

Insane People: Part 2
Insane People: Part 1

12 thoughts on “Insane People: Part 3

  1. Always good to have a job. However.. if it is that stressful, why not see what else is in the area? Maybe you can find somewhere nice. OR you can write something. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I loves you ๐Ÿ™‚

    • awww hugs! In all honesty my job isn’t really that stressful. I don’t spend my entire shift on the phones, I mostly assist other people as they take calls. I make good money and a lot more than I could make at any job around town here. I was making similar money doing data entry but they cut our wages back in the day which is why I quit doing that and found the job I have now. I’m with you though, I could write something. I should write something! I have so many half stories it’s insane.

    • People definitely entertain me. I guess it’s true though, without them I wouldn’t have a job so I suppose for that I’m glad for the craziness!

  2. It’s quite balancing hearing the stories from your side, because there are so many stories from the customer’s side. Like this morning, I’ve been having problems with my internet, so I phoned my internet provide and, I kid you not, the recording that you have to click through before you can get to speak with a human said “….if you are having trouble connecting to the internet, you may find the answer on our web pages at http://www..”. Seriously?!

    • oh my gosh that is insane! I must say I HATE automated phone systems. They drive me bonkers, especially the ones that want you to speak into them to make your selection, they never understand what you’re saying!

Leave a Reply

