Just Ramblin’

I don’t know what it is, but the past 6 months, maybe even longer, I’ve just felt uninspired. Even to the point of not really reading books as much as I used to. I haven’t finished a novel since moving in September. That’s scandalous!

My theory is that my work schedule has changed. I work at the computer for 10 hours a day, 4 days a week. So when I’m not at my computer, I don’t want to look at it at all! I haven’t even played WoW (yeah yeah nerd alert I get it!). My point to all this is, I’m here, I’m just uninspired. I haven’t done much writing, much reading, not even researching odd ball things that I usually like to waste time on. I don’t know what’s wrong with me!

I’m trying to pull myself out of this unimaginative uninspired rut that I’m in, I really am. It’s funny, this time last year I really felt fulfilled when I was writing, blogging, reading, etc. But my life then was in a sense in shambles. (Not my marriage or my job, just my life) My life today isn’t in much better shape, but my surroundings are so in a sense I’m happier. But I’m not feeling as fulfilled. Does that make any sense whatsoever?

I know the simple solution you’re all thinking. “Durrr Laura just sit down with a pen and paper and write something. Grab your book and read.” I tell myself that all the time, then I manage to wander off and do something else….which is….? I don’t even know. Watch TV is that what I spend my free time on? Probably. I do love television, I majored in it for Christ’s sake.

Ok well this got really rambly and pointless. I will try to make more of a point next time. I’m thinking of focusing my blog on more of one topic and less of a mishmash. Not sure what though. Movie reviews? Book reviews? (that’d be easier if I’d actually read, right?) A blog about my cat? I don’t know. I just don’t know! Ok.

In other news, I’ve joined the local YMCA and now go swimming at least 3-4 times a week in an attempt to not have my own orbit from being so big.

8 thoughts on “Just Ramblin’

  1. I think when you’ve had some big stresses to deal with, it’s normal to be a bit depressed for a while afterwards, even if you don’t feel depressed as such, that kind of lack of motivation and inspiration that you’re speaking of are signs. Don’t be hard on yourself about it, you’ll get your oomph back!

  2. Maybe set aside 10 minutes to free write on a paper. Just give yourself space and permission to write whatever you want. Sometimes I make games out of stuff I’m not feeling and it helps me get into it again? Maybe time how many pages you can read in 10 minutes? Just a thought. Ways to slowly get back into what you love. babysteps. 🙂

Leave a Reply

